Collection: Lochlea

For the past several years, a private distillery in Lochlea has quietly crafted, aged and caskd our spirit while we patiently waited to share the results of our labors with the world.

Before former Laphroaig distillery manager John Campbell took over, distillery manager Malcolm Rennie served as first manager with his experience and knowledge. John brings a wealth of knowledge and a burning desire to help Lochlea fulfill his potential. Over the past 27 years he has built one of the top ten Scotch brands in the world.

A whiskey that is more than just a pretty bottle to look at, collect or keep. It's a whiskey that belongs in cocktail cabinets, around campfires, in wedding hip flasks and in all your favorite bars, pubs and pubs.

5 products

History of the Lochlea distillery

On the Ayrshire farm, once home to Robert Burns, is home to one of Scotland's most fascinating new distilleries. Lochlea Distillery has long been a well-kept secret, but after a £6 million investment and four years of construction, it began distilling in 2018whiskey. The independent, farm-based distillery has since ventured into the spotlight and is now the center of attention with its debut release. This debut release, just in time for Burns Night on January 25th, the Bard's birthday, is a perfect marketing event and offers a first glimpse of what Lochlea is all about.

Lochleawas formerly a cattle ranch, but after the current owners purchased it in 2006 and expanded the land holdings to approximately 222 acres, they realized that something completely different was needed to make a farm of this size viable. In 2015, they began an experiment, growing 50 acres of malting barley. Since then, they have worked quietly and learned from mistakes, explored opportunities and made contacts in the malt industry.

Neil McGeoch founded Lochlea Distillery in 2015. The first master distiller, Malcolm Rennie, carried out production before moving to the newly built Rosebank Distillery. The first whiskey was produced in 2018.

In 2021, John Campbell took over the position of master distiller. He is known for his years of experience at Laphroaig on Islay and is a renowned name in the whiskey scene.

The first Lochlea whiskeys were brought onto the market from the beginning of 2022. The first edition sold out in the first 24 hours and attracted a lot of attention in the whiskey industry. More bottlings are constantly being released, and a limited special bottling is released every few months. One of these is the Lochlea Cask Strength with only 15,000 bottles worldwide. The first standard whiskey, Lochlea Our Barley, is now finally available.

  • Exterior view of the Lochlea Distillery

  • Idyllic Lochlea landscape

Production of the Lochlea distillery

At Lochlea Whiskey there are no compromises when it comes to single malt. Everything is geared towards producing spirits of the highest quality - from the wooden washbacks to the on-site shelf storage. The farm distillery uses its own unpeated barley varieties such as Loreate and works with fermentation times between 66 and 110 hours. A semi-loud mashtun, 6 Douglas fir washbacks and 2 pot stills custom-made by Forsyth are used. Annual production is 200,000 LPA (liters of pure alcohol) and the barrels are purchased directly from the source, whether they are first fill ex-bourbon barrels from Maker's Mark in Kentucky or fresh sherry casks straight from Jerez.

The team has the opportunity at Lochlea to work with more experimental casks like former onesLaphroaigQuarter Casks or former Cabernet Sauvignon casks to assess how the spirit of Lochlea interacts with different cask types. Lochlea creates a unique flavor profile by using Lochlea's own barley and encouraging long fermentation and meticulous distilling cut. Another malt is produced that is suitable for long aging and is not bottled until it has been in barrel for at least 10 years.

As an independent, family-owned distillery, Lochlea has the freedom to be innovative, flexible and responsive without the constraints of a large corporate structure. By using the farm's own barley and on-site water source, there is full traceability of the ingredients that go into the process. This allows for a higher level of quality control and a flavor profile unique to Lochlea. At Lochlea Distillery you should forget preconceived notions about Lowland Whiskey because Lochlea is different - elegant and full of fruity notes!

  • Douglas fir washbacks

  • Pot still from Forsythe, typical of Scotland

Other interesting facts about the Lochlea distillery

The Lochlea Distillery produces its whiskey under the motto “dare to be honest”. This means that the single malt can be completely traced from the harvest of the barley to the bottling. The use of our own barley is particularly special at Lochlea. But the long-time expert John Campbell (formerly Laphroaig) as manager and master blender as well as the exciting selection of barrels should not be overlooked.

Lochlea Farm is a unique single estate distillery that grows its own barley on the farm. The farm has a long and impressive history, as it was once lived and managed by Robert Burns, an important Scottish national poet. The unpeated barley rise is accentuated by a long fermentation time to enhance fruity notes in the whisky. Whiskey is produced here in a quality that you won't find anywhere else.

The typical trademark are the tractor tracks on the packaging. This closes the circle of sustainability.

  • One of Lochlea's barrel warehouses

  • Track gate marks - the typical trademark of the distillery.

Location of the Lochlea distillery

Kategorie: Lochlea

In den vergangenen Jahren hat eine private Brennerei in Lochlea in aller Stille unsere Spirituose hergestellt, reifen lassen und in Fässern gelagert, während wir geduldig darauf warteten, die Ergebnisse unserer Arbeit mit der Welt zu teilen.

Bevor der ehemalige Laphroaig-Destillerie-Manager John Campbell die Leitung übernahm, diente der Brennereimanager Malcolm Rennie mit seiner Erfahrung und seinem Wissen als erster Leiter. John bringt eine Fülle von Kenntnissen und den brennenden Wunsch mit, Lochlea dabei zu helfen, sein Potenzial auszuschöpfen. In den letzten 27 Jahren hat er eine der zehn besten Scotch-Marken der Welt aufgebaut.

Ein Whisky, der mehr ist als nur eine hübsche Flasche zum Anschauen, Sammeln oder Aufbewahren. Es ist ein Whisky, der in Cocktailschränke, an Lagerfeuer, in Flachmänner für Hochzeiten und in alle Ihre Lieblingsbars, -kneipen und -lokale gehört.

11 Produkte

Geschichte der Lochlea Brennerei

Auf der Farm in Ayrshire, in der einst Robert Burns lebte, befindet sich eine der faszinierendsten neuen Destillerien Schottlands. Die Lochlea Distillery war lange Zeit ein gut gehütetes Geheimnis, aber nach einer Investition von 6 Millionen Pfund und vier Jahren Bauzeit begann sie 2018 mit der Destillation von Whisky. Inzwischen hat sich die unabhängige, auf Farmen basierende Destillerie ins Rampenlicht gewagt und steht nun mit ihrer Erstveröffentlichung im Mittelpunkt des Interesses. Diese Erstveröffentlichung, pünktlich zur Burns Night am 25. Januar, dem Geburtstag des Barden, ist ein perfektes marketingwirksames Ereignis und bietet einen ersten Einblick in das, worum es bei Lochlea geht.

Lochlea war früher eine Rinderfarm, aber nachdem die heutigen Besitzer sie im Jahr 2006 erworben hatten und den Landbesitz auf etwa 222 Acres (Morgen) ausdehnten, erkannten sie, dass etwas ganz anderes nötig war, um eine Farm dieser Größe rentabel zu machen. 2015 begannen sie mit einem Experiment und bauten 50 Morgen Braugerste an. Seitdem haben sie in Ruhe gearbeitet und aus Fehlern gelernt, Möglichkeiten erkundet und Kontakte in der Malt Industry geknüpft.

Neil McGeoch gründete im Jahr 2015 die Lochlea Brennerei. Der erste Master-Distiller, Malcolm Rennie, führte die Produktion durch, bevor er zur neu errichteten Rosebank Distillery wechselte. Im Jahr 2018 wurde der erste Whisky hergestellt.

Im Jahr 2021 übernahm John Campbell die Position des Master-Distillers. Er ist bekannt für seine jahrelange Erfahrung bei Laphroaig auf Islay und ein renommierter Name in der Whisky-Szene.

Ab Anfang 2022 wurden die ersten Lochlea Whiskys auf den Markt gebracht. Die erste Auflage wurde in den ersten 24 Stunden abverkauft und erregte große Aufmerksamkeit in der Whisky Branche. Es werden ständig weitere Abfüllungen herausgebracht, alle paar Monate erscheint eine limitierte Sonderabfüllung. Eine davon ist der Lochlea Cask Strength mit nur 15.000 Flaschen weltweit. Der erste Standardwhisky, der Lochlea Our Barley, ist nun auch endlich erhältlich.

  • Aussenansicht der Lochlea Brennerei

  • Idyllische Landschaft von Lochlea

Produktion der Lochlea Brennerei

Bei Lochlea Whisky werden keine Kompromisse gemacht, wenn es um Single Malt geht. Alles wird darauf ausgerichtet, Spirituosen von höchster Qualität herzustellen - von den wooden washbacks bis zum Regallager vor Ort. Die Farm Brennerei verwendet ihre eigenen ungetorften Gerstensorten wie Loreate und arbeitet mit einer Fermentationsdauer zwischen 66 und 110 Stunden. Zum Einsatz kommt eine semi-lauter Mashtun, 6 Washbacks aus Douglasie und 2 Pot Stills, die von Forsyth maßgefertigt wurden. Die Jahresproduktion liegt bei 200.000 LPA (Liter purer Alkohol) und die Fässer werden direkt von der Quelle gekauft, egal ob es sich um first fill Ex-Bourbon barrels von Maker's Mark in Kentucky oder um frische Sherry-Casks direkt aus Jerez handelt.

Das Team hat bei Lochlea die Möglichkeit, mit experimentelleren Fässern wie ehemaligen Laphroaig Quarter Casks oder ehemaligen Cabernet-Sauvignon Fässern zu arbeiten, um zu beurteilen, wie der Spirit von Lochlea mit verschiedenen Fasstypen interagiert. Lochlea erzeugt einen einzigartigen Geschmacksprofil durch Verwendung der eigenen, für Lochlea einzigartigen Gerste und durch Förderung einer langen Fermentation und Akribie beim distilling cut. Es wird ein weiterer Malt hergestellt, der für lange Reifung geeignet ist und nicht abgefüllt wird, bevor er nicht mindestens 10 Jahre im Fass war.

Als unabhängige Destillerie in Familienbesitz hat Lochlea die Freiheit, innovativ, flexibel und reaktionsschnell zu arbeiten, ohne die Einschränkungen einer großen Unternehmensstruktur. Durch die Verwendung der eigenen auf der Farm angebauten Gerste und der eigenen Wasserquelle vor Ort herrscht eine vollständige Rückverfolgbarkeit der Zutaten, die in den Prozess gelangen. Das ermöglicht ein höheres Maß an Qualitätskontrolle und ein für Lochlea einzigartiges Geschmacksprofil. Bei der Lochlea Brennerei sollte man vorgefasste Meinungen über Lowland Whisky vergessen, denn Lochlea ist anders - elegant und voller Fruchtnoten!

  • Washbacks aus Douglasienholz

  • Für Schottland typische Pot-Still Brennblase von Forsythe

Sonstiges wissenswertes über die Lochlea Brennerei

Die Lochlea Distillery produziert ihren Whisky unter dem Leitsatz "dare to be honest". Das bedeutet, dass der Single Malt von der Ernte der eigenen Gerste bis zur Abfüllung in die Flasche lückenlos nachverfolgbar ist. Besonders die Verwendung der eigenen Gerste ist eine Besonderheit bei Lochlea. Doch auch der langjährige Fachmann John Campbell (ehemals Laphroaig) als Manager und Master Blender sowie die aufregende Auswahl an Fässern sollten nicht übersehen werden.

Die Lochlea Farm ist eine einzigartige Single Estate Destillerie, die ihre eigene Gerste auf dem Hof anbaut. Dabei hat die Farm eine lange und eindrucksvolle Geschichte, denn sie wurde einst von Robert Burns, einem bedeutenden schottischen Nationaldichter, bewohnt und bewirtschaftet. Der ungetorfte Gerstenaufschwung wird durch eine lange Fermentierungszeit betont, um fruchtige Noten im Whisky zu verstärken. Hier wird Whisky in einer Qualität produziert, die man anderswo vergeblich sucht.

Das typische Markenzeichen sind die Traktorspuren auf den Verpackungen. Somit schließt sich der Kreis der Nachhaltigkeit.

  • Eines der Fasslager von Lochlea

  • Tracktorspuren - das typische Markenzeichen der Brennerei.

Standort der Lochlea Brennerei